ANTI-BULLYING

Hopewell Valley Regional School District strongly believes that student safety is a fundamental right. Students must be given the opportunity to learn in an environment of trust and support. To that end, we fully embrace the Anti-Bullying Bill of Rights and related board policies. Please review the following information and do not hesitate to call the District Anti-Bullying Coordinator with questions or concerns.

District Anti-Bullying Coordinator: Dan DeStefano (dandestefano@hvrsd.org), 609.737.4000 x3524

School Anti-Bullying Specialist: To monitor and address related concerns, each school has appointed an anti-bullying specialist who will chair school-based Student Safety Teams. The specialists are:

Bear Tavern Elementary: Caitlyn Gleason, counselor (caitlyngleason@hvrsd.org), 609.737.4000 x570
Hopewell Elementary: Kristina Shaw, counselor (kristinashaw@hvrsd.org), 609.737.4000 x7135
Toll Gate Grammar: Courtney Schaefer, counselor (courtneyschaefer@hvrsd.org), 609.737.4000 x8245
Stony Brook Elementary: Alyssa Ranallo, counselor (alyssaranallo@hvrsd.org), 609.737.4000 x6041
Timberlane Middle School: Terri Stimmler, counselor (terristimmler@hvrsd.org), 609.737.4000 x 4125
Central High School: Christopher Velderman, counselor, (christophervelderman@hvrsd.org), 609.737.4000 x 3529

DEFINITION OF HARASSMENT, INTIMIDATION AND BULLYING:

As defined by the Hopewell Valley Regional School District and NJ state code, “Harassment, intimidation, or bullying” means any gesture, any written, verbal or physical act, or any electronic communication, as defined in N.J.S.A. 18A:37-14, whether it be a single incident or a series of incidents that: 

1. Is reasonably perceived as being motivated by either any actual or perceived characteristic, such as race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, or a mental, physical or sensory disability, or by any other distinguishing characteristic (AND)

 2. Takes place on school property, at any school-sponsored function, on a school bus, or off school grounds, as provided for in N.J.S.A. 18A:37-15.3; (AND)

3. Substantially disrupts or interferes with the orderly operation of the school or the rights of other students; AND THAT (one of the following must be present):

a. A reasonable person should know, under the circumstances, that the act(s) will have the effect of physically or emotionally harming a student or damaging the student’s property, or placing a student in reasonable fear of physical or emotional harm to his/her person or damage to his/her property; OR

b. Has the effect of insulting or demeaning any student or group of students; OR

c. Creates a hostile educational environment for the student by interfering with a student’s education or by severely or pervasively causing physical or emotional harm to the student.

NJ DOE School Climate Coordinator: hib@doe.nj.gov

To report anonymously, send completed form to tips@hvrsd.org