The Hopewell Valley Regional Board of Education is a nine-member body elected by the residents of Hopewell Township, Hopewell Borough and Pennington Borough. Seats are apportioned by population. Hopewell Township has seven representatives; each borough is represented by one seat. All members serve three-year terms. In the event of a resignation, the Board appoints a replacement who serves until the next Board election when voters choose a representative to fill the unexpired term.

The Board of Education exists for the purpose of providing a thorough and efficient system of free public education in grades Pre-Kindergarten through twelve in the Hopewell Valley Regional School District. The Hopewell Valley Regional School District is comprised of all the areas within the municipal boundaries of the Borough of Pennington, Hopewell Borough, and Hopewell Township.

The Board of Education is constituted, authorized, and governed by the statutes of the State of New Jersey, Title 18A, Education. The Board shall make, amend, and repeal rules consistent with statutes or with the rules of the State Board of Education for its own government and the transaction of its business and for the government and management of the public schools and the public property of the school district and for the employment, regulation of, conduct, and discharge of its employees. The Board shall perform all acts and do all things, consistent with law and the rules of the State Board, necessary for the proper conduct, equipment and maintenance of the public schools of the district.