EcoWarriors Recognized by the Board of Education

 Google ‘EcoWarrior’ and the first result on screen is the phonetic spelling and definition “a person actively involved in preventing damage to the environment.” The phonetic spelling became the heart of the district’s EcoWarrior logo as they sought to recognize a student from each district school fitting the EcoWarrior description.


“We are so proud that students in every school are actively making a difference outside our classroom walls.” said Superintendent Thomas Smith. “Our ultimate district goal is to prepare students to be happy, successful, global citizens; and our EcoWarriors prove they are applying lessons they learned in school to improve our earth.”


The district partnered with the Friends of Hopewell Valley Open Space and their Executive Director, Lisa Wolff to recognize students who embody our district mission.  In addition to receiving certificates and EcoWarrior t-shirts, Friends of Hopewell Valley Open Space (FoHVOS) will plant a tree in honor of each of the six EcoWarrior winners.


“We are delighted to support the Hopewell Valley Regional School District’s EcoWarrior program and helping to develop the next generation of environmental activists.” Said FoHVOS Executive Director, Lisa Wolff.


Recognized at the May 21st HVRSD Board of Education meeting, EcoWarrior winners are:


  • Bear Tavern Adam Russell
  • Central High Katie Genovesi
  • Hopewell Elem Megan D'Alessandro
  • Stony Brook Matthew Nguyen
  • Timberlane Harriet Strunk
  • Toll Gate Zelda Houghton


This is the first time we’ve done the EcoWarrior contest and it has been so well received, we are going to make it an annual event,” added Dr. Smith.


The district EcoWarrior logo was designed by Anne Nixon-Ellery, an HVRSD parent.




About Friends of Hopewell Valley Open Space (FoHVOS):

FoHVOS is a nonprofit land trust dedicated to preserving the Valley's character through land and natural resource protection. To learn more about FoHVOS, visit or call 609-730-1560.



EcoWarrior Winners (from Left to Right) Thomas Smith (Superintendent of Schools), Adam Russell (Bear Tavern),  Katie Genovesi (Central High School), Megan D'Alessandro (Hopewell Elementary), Matthew Nguyen (Stony Brook), Zelda Houghton (Toll Gate), Harriet Strunk (Timberlane), Lisa Wolff (FoHVOS Executive Director).